UW Health Sports Medicine 

Badgers continue to impress at Speedo Sectionals


July 19, 2014

• Meet Results

MADISON, Wis. -- Strong swims were aplenty and records kept falling, while relay teams also got into the mix in a big way, as Badgers continued to put on a show Saturday at the Speedo Champions Series Sectional meet at the University of Iowa Aquatic Center.

The third day of competition at the four-day event, it was yet again another strong showing for Badgers in Iowa City, Iowa. This was especially the case for Wisconsin Aquatics "A" relay teams, as both the men and women claimed event wins in the 800-meter freestyle relay and set records in the process.

The men's "A" team of Matt Hutchins, Nick Caldwell, T.J. Thompson and Sean Maloney swam a blistering 7:31.81, which shattered the previous pool record held by Minnesota Aquatics of 7:38.02 set back in 2012. Also competing in the final was the Wisconsin Aquatics "B" team, which finished second in 7:42.06 as Brett Pinfold made bars cut (150.70).

In the women's 800 free relay final, Aja Van Hout, Ivy Martin, Dana Grindall and Alexandria Frasier teamed to record a pool-best time of 8:19.02 and also topped the previous meet record of 8:21.92 set by Minnesota Aquatics in 2009.

Individually, Maria Carlson began the day by earning a national cut in preliminaries of the 100-meter breaststroke, finishing seventh in 1:11.53 and qualifying herself for the upcoming 2014 Phillips 66 Summer National Championships held in Irvine, California, Aug. 6-10.

Hutchins claimed a meet and pool record of his own in the finals of the 400-meter freestyle, finishing in 3:54.63 to win the event. Caldwell finished second in 3:57.84. 

The finals of the 200-meter backstroke were won by Drew teDuits, who broke his own pool record set back in 2012 by this time finishing in 2:01.33. 

Martin also picked up an individual win in the 100-meter butterfly, touching first in a pool-record time of 1:00.51.

Well in control of the team standings through three days of competition, Wisconsin Aquatics extended its lead to nearly 800 points by day's end.

The final day of competition at the 2014 Speedo Champions Series in Iowa City, Iowa, begins Sunday at 9 a.m. CT.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago