UW Health Sports Medicine 

Six to be inducted into UW Athletic Department Hall of Fame

ON WISCONSIN <b>UW Athletics Hall of Fame</b>
UW Athletics Hall of Fame

Aug. 9, 2012


MADISON, Wis. – The University of Wisconsin Athletic Department, in conjunction with the National W Club, will induct six members into its Hall of Fame on Friday, Aug. 31. The ceremony will be held in front of Camp Randall Memorial Sports Center (The Shell), beginning at 5:30 p.m.

Wrestler Jim Haines won the 1977 NCAA title at 118 pounds after competing in the 1976 Olympics for the U.S.  He was a three-time national freestyle champion, winning a gold medal at the 1978 World Cup and silver medals at the 1975 Pan American Games, 1977 World Cup, and 1979 World Championships. Haines was also the 1980 U.S. Olympic Trials champion but did not compete due to the boycott. Following his career at the UW from 1973-77, Haines was a 20-year high school softball coach, winning two state titles.

Lawrence Johnson starred for the football and men’s track and field teams from 1976-78. He was a first-team All-American defensive back in 1978 and won four Big Ten titles on the track in 1976. Johnson was drafted in the second round of the 1979 NFL Draft, playing nine seasons with the Cleveland Browns and Buffalo Bills.

Karen Lunda was a two-sport letterwinner for the Badgers, lettering three years in field hockey from 1978-80. After that sport was dropped, she became Wisconsin’s first women’s soccer All-American, earning second-team honors in 1981. Lunda ranked among the UW’s top all-time players in field hockey, ranking second in career goals (24) and assists (7). In soccer, she set the single-season records for goals (22), assists (18) and points (62) that still stand.  In Lunda’s only season on the soccer team, she aided the Badgers to a top-10 national ranking.

Cory Raymer, a consensus first-team football All-American, played for the Badgers from 1992-94. He was a two-time first-team All-Big Ten pick at center. The three-year starter aided his team to the 1993 Big Ten Conference title and 1994 Rose Bowl championship. Raymer was chosen in the second round of the 1995 NFL Draft by the Washington Redskins. He played in the NFL for 11 seasons.

Former men’s basketball coach Dick Bennett helped rebuild the Badger program from 1995-2000. His teams qualified for post-season play four years, including three NCAA tournament appearances. Bennett’s 2000 team advanced to the Final Four, winning a then-school record 22 games. His teams led the Big Ten in scoring defense four out of five years, placing in the top five nationally three times.

This year’s Heritage Era (prior to 1962) inductee is former football player James Haluska. The starting quarterback led the UW to the 1952 Big Ten title and its first Rose Bowl appearance. Haluska was selected to play in the 1955 Blue-Gray Game, 1956 Senior Bowl and 1956 Chicago Tribune College All-Star Game. He was chosen in the 1954 NFL Draft by the Chicago Bears, playing one season.  

The University of Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1991 by the UW-Madison Division of Intercollegiate Athletics in cooperation with the National W Club, Wisconsin's letterwinner organization. The Hall of Fame inductees are recognized and honored for their exemplary athletic achievement and contributions made to the University of Wisconsin.

This year’s class brings the number of inductees into the Hall of Fame to 190.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago