UW Health Sports Medicine 

Ron Dayne Retrospective web page introduced

ON WISCONSIN <b>Ron Dayne retrospective web page</b>
Ron Dayne retrospective web page

Dec. 29, 2011

Ron Dayne Retrospective

MADISON, Wis. -- Ron Dayne will be inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame on Sunday, Dec. 31, along with some other standout sports personalities. The two-time Rose Bowl Game MVP, who helped Wisconsin to back-to-back wins in the The Granddaddy of Them All in 1999 and 2000, joins Dick Enberg and George Fleming as a member of the 2011 Rose Bowl Hall of Fame class.

What Ron Dayne accomplished at the University of Wisconsin was simply remarkable. He defined the Badger football program during his four-year career (1996-99) with his physical play, no-nonsense approach and blue-collar work ethic for a program which averaged 9.3 wins per season during his illustrious career.

To honor his latest recognition, a special web page retrospective has been built.

On one page fans can find his NCAA, Big Ten and school records (as they currently stand through 2010) along with his long list of achievements.

There is also a photo gallery and several videos including his NCAA-record breaking run against Iowa in 1999. All of his career rushing records and honors are also easily found.

In addition, his full bio detailing each record-breaking season is online. His season-by-season stats outline his Heisman Trophy career. There is a special photo section dedicated to the Heisman night along with photos from the occasion.

Dayne becomes the fifth person with UW ties to be inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame and joins his head coach, current UW Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez, as an inductee. Alvarez was named part of the hall's Class of 2009 in recognition of his three wins in the Rose Bowl Game as the Badgers' coach.

The other Badgers enshrined are 2004 inductee Alan Ameche, 1994 inductee Pat Richter and 1991 inductee Ron Vander Kelen.

Dayne won the Heisman Trophy in 1999 along with numerous other accolades, including the Maxwell Award, Doak Walker Award and Big Ten Player of the Year honors.

He also garnered All-America honors in 1996, 1998 and 1999. His name and number is one of six displayed on the Camp Randall Stadium façade, with his number being officially retired by Wisconsin in 2007.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago