UW Health Sports Medicine 

Alvarez to coach Badgers in Rose Bowl

ON WISCONSIN <b>UW Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez will return to the sideline to coach the Badgers in the 2013 Rose Bowl Game.</b>
UW Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez will return to the sideline to coach the Badgers in the 2013 Rose Bowl Game.

Dec. 6, 2012

News Conference Small Video Graphic  |  Transcript  |  The Alvarez Era

MADISON, Wis. -- University of Wisconsin Director of Athletics and former head football coach Barry Alvarez announced Thursday that he will return to the sidelines on an interim basis to coach the Badgers in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1, 2013.

The winningest football coach in school history at 118-73-4 (.615), Alvarez spent 16 seasons as the Badgers' head coach from 1990-2005, and led UW to Big Ten championships in 1993, 1998 and 1999.

He has served as athletics director at Wisconsin for the last nine years, a span in which UW teams have claimed 16 national championships and 37 conference crowns.

Alvarez's 8-3 record in bowl games with the Badgers is the best in college football history (among coaches with at least 11 bowl appearances) and includes Rose Bowl championships in 1994, 1999 and 2000.

A 2009 inductee of the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame, Alvarez is the only Big Ten coach to win back-to-back Rose Bowls and joins Ohio State's Woody Hayes (4) as the only Big Ten coach with at least three Rose Bowl Game wins.

Alvarez will become just the second person to coach in "The Granddaddy of Them All" after being enshrined in the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. A member of the 1998 Rose Bowl Hall of Fame class, Rick Neuheisel led Washington to a win the 2001 Rose Bowl Game.

Alvarez will lead a team making its third-consecutive appearance in Pasadena, a first for the UW program. Ohio State (1973-76) and Michigan (1977-79) are the only other Big Ten teams to play in three straight Rose Bowls.

Wisconsin will make its fifth Rose Bowl appearance in the BCS era, matching USC for the most appearances in the game since 1998.

Alvarez was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2010 and earned national coach of the year honors in 1993 and 1999. He was named Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1993 and 1998.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago