UW Health Sports Medicine 

Border Battle begins year No. 7

ON WISCONSIN <b>Border Battle Trophy</b>
Border Battle Trophy

Sept. 27, 2010

Follow the Border Battle Schedule and Results

MADISON, Wis. -- When the Wisconsin women's soccer team visits Minnesota Thursday at 7 p.m., it begins the 29-event Border Battle between the athletic programs from the University of Minnesota and the University of Wisconsin.

This friendly competition is in its seventh season and the series is tied at 3-3. Minnesota won the last two years accumulating a score of 550 to UW’s 330 in 2009-10. The Gophers had an impressive 535-345 win in 2008-09.

The annual battle for border supremacy between the Athletic Departments at the University of Wisconsin and University of Minnesota is determined by awarding points to the school which wins in head-to-head competition, or to the team which finishes higher at the Big Ten championship in the 11 sports in which the Badgers and Golden Gophers don't have a head-to-head competition.

The overall winner of the season-long event wins the Border Battle Trophy for display on its campus. The total number of points available for the 29 competitions is 880.

In the 11 sports which compete in head-to-head competition, 40 points are at stake. If the teams meet just once annually (football as an example), then the winner gets 40 points and the loser gets zero. If the teams meet twice (women's basketball, for example), the winner of each game gets 20 points and the losers get zero.

If the teams meet four times (men's hockey for example), then the winner of each game gets 10 points and the loser gets zero. If a game ends in a tie, the points are split (20 to each school).

Where team scoring is dependent upon tournament outcomes, 40 points is awarded to the higher finishing school at the Big Ten championship. This affects the sports of men's and women's cross country, swimming and diving, golf, indoor track and outdoor track and women's rowing.

Six sports are sponsored by only one of the institutions and, thus, not included in the Border Battle. Wisconsin has men's soccer, men's rowing and women's lightweight rowing (UM does not), while Minnesota has baseball and men's and women's gymnastics (UW does not).

The Badgers won the trophy in three of the first four years of competition. In 2008, the competition came down to the last weekend for the third time. UW scored in 17 events totaling 465 points while Minnesota scored in 15 events for 415 points.

Wisconsin won the inaugural trophy in 2005 by the score of 235-205, while the Gophers tied the series with 530 points to UW’s 350 in 2005-06. In the closest competition ever, the Badgers won the 2007 title by just 10 points after leading most of the 2006-07 sports seasons. Minnesota closed the gap in the final two months to come within 445-435.

Follow the schedule of competitions and results here.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago