UW Health Sports Medicine 

Badgers in the Olympics special web section debuts



July 18, 2012


MADISON, Wis. -- Check out the 'Badgers in the Olympics' special web page to follow all the athletes with UW ties at the upcoming London Games July 27-Aug. 12.

The Badgers in the Olympics page features athlete bios, a schedule of events and headlines related to the athletes. Check out the Wisconsin Olympians photo gallery of all past UW Olympians dating back to 1904. Follow the athletes on Twitter using the hashtag #UWOlympics. You will also find links to all the London Games websites on the page Wisconsin has nine student-athletes competing in or around London. Eight are former Badgers and one is a current Badger in junior distance runner Mohammed Ahmed, who qualified for his native Canada in the 10,000 meters.

Another familiar face in the 10,000 belongs to 2005 graduate Matt Tegenkamp. He is competing in his second Olympics after finishing 13th in the 5,000 meters in 2008. Also competing in track and field for Canada in the 1,500 meters is Hilary (Edmondson) Stellingwerff, a 2004 UW graduate. Egle Staisiunaite, a 2011 graduate, qualified in the 400-meter hurdles for her native Lithuania.

Gwen Jorgenson, who swam and ran cross country and track at Wisconsin, is one of the top entrants in the triathlon. Evan Jager is the final UW track competitor and will be competing in the 3000-meter steeplechase.

Wisconsin's long tradition of sending rowers to the Olympics continues this year with the James brothers, Grant and Ross, in the men's eight boat. Former lightweight rower Kristin Hedstrom qualified in the double sculls.

2012 Badger Olympians

Name (Country) Years at UW Sport Olympics
Mohammed Ahmed 2009-present Men's Track/Cross Country 2012
Hilary Edmondson (CAN) 2000-04 Women's Track 2012
Kristin Hedstrom (USA) 2004-08 Women's Rowing 2012
Evan Jager (USA) 2007-08 Men's Track 2012
Grant James (USA) 2005-09 Men's Rowing 2012
Ross James (USA) 2005-09 Men's Rowing 2012
Gwen Jorgensen (USA) 2005-09 Track, X Country, Swimming 2012
Egle Staisiunaite (Lithuania) 2007-11 Women's Track 2012
Matt Tegenkamp (USA) 2001-05 Men's Track/Cross Country 2008, 2012
Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago