UW Health Sports Medicine 

Class of 2010: Seven to be inducted into the UW Athletic Hall of Fame

<b> Barry Alvarez is one of seven who will be inducted into the UW Athletic Hall of Fame in 2010 </b>

Barry Alvarez is one of seven who will be inducted into the UW Athletic Hall of Fame in 2010

July 1, 2010

University of Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame Announcement Small Video Graphic

MADISON, Wis. – The University of Wisconsin athletic department will induct six former student-athletes as well as current Director of Athletics and former Wisconsin football head coach Barry Alvarez into the University of Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame on September 10, 2010.

Led by Alvarez (1990-2005), All-American in football Dan Lanphear (1957-1959), two-time All-American runner Dick Houden (1947), four-time Academic All-American football player Don Davey (1987-1990), two-time NCAA champion wrestler Donny Pritzlaff (1998-2001), 12-time All-American swimmer Ellen Stonebraker (1998-2001) and the highest scoring defenseman in Wisconsin men’s hockey history, Theran Welsh (1978-1981) complete the class of 2010.

The winningest football coach in school history, finishing with a 118-73-4 (.615) record in 16 seasons, Alvarez has also served as the UW Director of Athletics since 2004. During his years leading the football team, Alvarez coached the cardinal and white to three Rose Bowl victories and became the first coach in history to lead a Big Ten team to back-to-back Rose Bowl wins (1999 and 2000). He guided Wisconsin to three Big Ten Championships and was a two-time Big Ten Coach of the Year (1993 and 1998). In addition, he holds the best NCAA record for bowl games (8-3 record). Among other accolades, in 1993 and 1999, Alvarez was named National Coach of the Year. For his distinguished career he was awarded membership into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame, Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame and the College Football Hall of Fame.

Lanphear took the experience he gained on the Wisconsin football team from 1957-1959 and turned it into a professional career when he played for the Houston Oilers in 1960 and 1962. As a senior he earned consensus first-team All-American honors while also being named first-team All Big Ten as a left tackle. During his final year at UW, he also competed in track.

Although he only competed on the Wisconsin track and field team in 1947, Dick Houden compiled an extensive list of awards.  Among many other accomplishments, he tied the American Indoor record in the 70-yard dash (7.0 seconds) and the Olympic and National Junior records at the AAU Outdoor Championships in the 100-meter dash. One of his largest accomplishments was being named an All-American in the 100 and 220 yard dash—twice. After his lone season at UW, Houden toured Europe as part of a nine-man delegation of top U.S. athletes in advance of the 1948 Olympics.

The only four-time Academic All-American in NCAA history, Davey did not waste much time during his four years with the football program from 1987-1990. During his senior campaign he was chosen as a first team All-Big Ten defensive tackle, named as the team captain and team MVP.  His senior year also marked the inception of Alvarez’s coaching career as Wisconsin’s head football coach. In 1991, the Green Bay Packers selected Davey as their third round draft pick where he started a nine-year NFL career with the Packers and the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Pritzlaff finished his wrestling campaign from 1998-2001 with two NCAA (2000, 2001) and three Big Ten Championship titles under his belt. He finished with an overall collegiate record of 135-16 (.894), which ranks fourth all-time in UW history in wins. In addition his .894 career winning percentage ranks second all-time at Wisconsin. Pritzlaff obtained Junior World Champion status in 1998 and, eight years later, he placed third at the 2006 World Championships for freestyle. He is currently the associate head coach for the Wisconsin wrestling team.

A 12-time All-American swimmer, 1999 Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships and 2001 Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, Stonebraker received several Big Ten awards from 1998-2001. Not only did she earn 10 league titles, she was a four-time All-Big Ten first-team selection and three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree. In 1999, Stonebraker was a member of the U.S. National team at the Pan-Pacific Games.

Welsh, a 1980 All-American defenseman, completed his four-year stint in 1981 with an NCAA men’s hockey title. He finished his career as the third-highest scorer in Wisconsin’s history. He is the highest scoring defenseman (228 points) and finished his career with the most assists (194) in UW history.

The University of Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1991 by the Division of Intercollegiate Athletics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, in cooperation with the National "W" Club, Wisconsin's letter winner organization. The first induction ceremony for the 35 charter members of the Hall of Fame was held in the spring of 1991. The start of this tradition—made possible by the dedicated efforts of many people, and the sponsorship of the National "W" Club –parallels the revitalization of Wisconsin's athletic program. With the class of 2010, there are now 177 members of the UW Athletic Hall of Fame.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago