UW Health Sports Medicine 

Krabbenhoft and Jorgensen receive Big Ten Medal of Honor



The Big Ten Conference office handed out the 2009 Medals of Honor Wednesday and seniors athid=5548&deptid=116"> --> Joe Krabbenhoft (Sioux Falls, S.D.) and athid=5177&deptid=142"> --> Gwen Jorgensen (Waukesha, Wis.) were selected from Wisconsin. The award is presented annually at each Big Ten institution to a male and female student-athlete in the graduating class who has demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics.

Krabbenhoft and Jorgensen join a distinguished alumni of past UW Medal of Honor winners that includes, among others: Joe Thomas (2007), Sarah Bauer (2007), Jim Leonhard (2005), Kirk Penney (2003), Mike Eaves (1978) and Pat Richter (1963).

Krabbenhoft appeared in all 136 games of his career for the mens basketball team, helping the team notch 100 total victories in his four seasons. A member of the 2008 Big Ten All-Defensive Team and a 2009 All-Big Ten honorable mention selection, the history major was also a three-time Academic All-Big Ten pick. In addition to holding the UW record for most career games played, Krabbenhoft also finished seventh in Badger history with 756 rebounds and 10th with 273 assists. He is the only player in Wisconsin history and just the fifth modern era Big Ten player to post 750 rebounds and 250 assists.

A former Badger swimmer who turned to track and cross country as a sophomore, Jorgensen emerged as one of the most decorated runners at Wisconsin. She is currently in pursuit of a second-consecutive All-America finish in the 5,000 meters after finishing seventh at last year's NCAA championships. She became the sixth UW athlete to earn All-America honors in the 5,000 last year and could become the Badgers' first-ever repeat All-American in the outdoor 5,000. This year Jorgensen was the Big Ten indoor champion in both the 3,000 and 5,000 meters. On the cross country course, Jorgensen earned All-American honors in 2008 after leading UW with a 19th-place finish. She also took home All-Big Ten and All-Region honors as a senior. In the classroom, the accounting major has fared even better earning Academic All-Big honors every year, USTFCCCA All-Academic three times over and Academic All-District accolades this year.


In 1914, the Conference endowed a Medal of Honor, to be awarded annually at each institution, to a student in the graduating class that has demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics. Winners in 1964 were 50th Anniversary winners of the Medal of Honor. Beginning in 1982, a senior woman athlete from each institution has also been awarded the Conference Medal of Honor.

1915 - Martin Thomas Kennedy, Rowing
1916 - William Dow Harvey, Track and Field
1917 - Mead Burke, Track and Field
1918 - Ebert Edward Simpson, Jr.
1919 - Charles H. Carpenter, Football
1920 - Anthony G. Zulfer; Baseball, Basketball
1921 - Allan C. Davey, Football
1922 - George Bunge, Football
1923 - Gustave K. Tebell; Baseball, Basketball, Football
1924 - Harold J. Bentson, Rowing
1925 - Lloyd Vallely; Cross Country, Track
1926 - Stephen H. Polaski, Football
1927 - Jefferson DeMent Burrus, Rowing
1928 - Louis Behr, Basketball
1929 - Theodore A. Thelander; Baseball, Basketball, Football
1930 - Donald W. Meikeljohn, Tennis
1931 - Louis E. Oberdeck, Rowing
1932 - Harvey H. Schneider
1933 - Nello Anthony Pacetti; Football
1934 - Robert A. Schiller, Wrestling
1935 - Rolf Falk Poser; Basketball
1936 - Howard Thurston Heun, Rowing
1937 - Leonard L. Lovshin, Football
1938 - Charles H. Fensk, Cross Country, Track
1939 - Walter I. Bietila, Baseball
1940 - Ralph H. Moeller, Football
1941 - Kenneth E. Bixby, Baseball
1942 - Burleigh E. Jacobs
1943 - Frederick R. Rehm
1944 - Edward M. Dzirbik, Wrestling
1945 - Ken Chandler, Track
1946 - Jerry Thompson, Football
1947 - Exner Menzel, Basketball
1948 - Carlyle Fay, Jr., Rowing
1949 - Donald R. Peterson, Rowing
1950 - Robert J. Wilson, Football
1951 - David Staiger; Track, Football
1952 - Walter E. Deike; Cross Country, Track
1953 - James T. Moran; Football, Rowing
1954 - Norbert J. Esser; Basketball, Football, Track
1955 - Richard W. Cable, Basketball
1956 - Robert E. Konovsky; Football, Wrestling
1957 - Patrick J. Levenhagen, Football
1958 - Walter V. Holt, Baseball
1959 - John R. Hobbs; Basketball, Football, Track
1960 - Dale L. Hackbart, Football
1961 - Gerald L. Kulcinski, Football
1962 - Thomas M. Hughbanks; Baseball, Basketball, Football, Track
1963 - Hugh V. (Pat) Richter; Baseball, Basketball, Football
1964 - William R. Smith, Track and Field
1965 - Gary V. Kirk, Tennis
1966 - David N. Fronek, Football
1967 - Dennis J. Sweeney, Baseball
1968 - Michael Gluck, Wrestling
1969 - Karl Rudat, Football
1970 - Douglas R. McFadyen, Hockey
1971 - Don Vandrey, Track and Field
1972 - Pat Matzdorf; Track and Field
1973 - Keith D. Nosbusch, Football
1974 - Gary D. Anderson
1975 - James R. Dyreby, Jr., Rowing
1976 - Patrick J. Christenso, Wrestling
1977 - Peter W. Brey, Basketball
1978 - Michael Eaves, Hockey
1979 - Steve Lacy; Cross Country, Track
1980 - Thoams G. Stauss, Football
1981 - David C. Goodspeed, Wrestling
1982 - David Mohapp, Football and Ann French, Badminton
1983 - David Farley and Rose Thomson; Cross Country, Track
1984 - John Johannson, Hockey and Janet Huff, Basketball
1985 - John Easker; Cross Country, Track and Cathy Branta; Cross Country, Track
1986 - Tim Hacker; Cross Country, Track and Lisa Fortman, Tennis
1987 - J. J. Weber; Basketball and Amy Justeson, Swimming
1988 - Paul Gruber, Football and Chris Gilles, Tennis
1989 - Dave Lee, Wrestling and Maureen Hartzheim; Cross Country, Track
1990 - John Byce, Hockey and Susan Temple, Volleyball
1991 - Jack Waite, Tennis and Elaine Demetroulis, Tennis
1992 - Matt Demaray, Wrestling and Heather Taggart, Soccer
1993 - Donovan Bergstrom, Track and Kim Sherman; Cross Country, Track
1994 - Louis Hinshaw, Track and Field and Susie Holt; Soccer
1995 - Jeff Gold, Soccer and Dana Tzakis, Golf
1996 - Scott Lamphear, Soccer and Lauren Gavaris, Tennis
1997 - Alastair Steel, Soccer and Kathy Butler; Cross Country, Track
1998 - Erik Raygor; Hockey and Katie Voigt; Basketball
1999 - Brian Doherty, Soccer and Shannon Brown, Soccer
2000 - Jay Schoenfelder; Cross Country, Track and Gina Panighetti, Swimming
2001 - Mike Kelley, Basketball and Allie Blomquist, Golf
2002 - Danny Westerman, Tennis and Andrea Wanezek, Swimming
2003 - Kirk Penney, Basketball and Erin Byrd, Volleyball
2004 - Ryan Tremelling, Track and Morgan Shields, Volleyball
2005 - Jim Leonhard, Football and Carla MacLeod, Ice Hockey
2006 - Nathan Brown, Track and Field and Jessica Ring, Ice Hockey
2007 - Joe Thomas, Football and Sara Bauer, Ice Hockey
2008 - Adam Barhamand, Rowing and Katrina Rundhaug, Track and Cross Country
2009 - Joe Krabbenhoft, Basketball and Gwen Jorgensen, Cross Country, Track

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago