UW Health Sports Medicine 

Big Ten honors Duggan, Tolzien for sportsmanship

ON WISCONSIN <b>Scott Tolzien</b>
Scott Tolzien

June 3, 2011

• 2010-11 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Winners Get    Acrobat  Reader

MADISON, Wis. -- Their athletic accomplishments have been well-documented, but Wisconsin football senior Scott Tolzien and women's hockey senior Meghan Duggan were recognized for their sportsmanship on Friday.

The Big Ten announced the 22 conference student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2010-11 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Meghan Duggan

The Badgers' starting quarterback, Tolzien led UW to an 11-2 record, a share of the Big Ten title and a berth in the Rose Bowl. Duggan, returning to the Badgers after a stint as a silver medal-winning Olympian for Team USA, captained UW to a 37-2-2 record, WCHA regular-season and Final Face-Off titles and the program's fourth NCAA championship -- all on the way to being named winner of the Patty Kazmaier Award.

Bill Cole, Sr., Men's Basketball
Nicole Kump, Sr., Volleyball

Andy Bayer, So., Men's Cross Country
Sara Olson, Sr., Softball

Chris Brant, Jr., Men's Golf
Kelsey Cermak, Sr., Women's Basketball

Frank Shotwell, Sr., Men's Track and Field
Dorian Shaw, Sr., Softball

Michigan State
Brandon Eckerle, Sr., Baseball
Kathryn Mahoney, Sr., Women's Gymnastics

Blake Hoffarber, Sr., Men's Basketball
Dannie Skrove, Jr., Softball
Matt Gailey, Sr., Baseball
Rebecca Lederhausen, Sr., Women's Golf
Ohio State
Paul Beery, Sr., Men's Lacrosse
Deborah Shim, Sr., Synchronized Swimming
Penn State
T.J. Howe, Sr., Men's Golf
Maggie Dunbar, Sr., Women's Lacrosse

Ryan Kerrigan, Sr., Football
Jaclyn Hart, Sr., Volleyball

Scott Tolzien, Sr., Football
Meghan Duggan, Sr., Women's Ice Hockey

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago