UW Health Sports Medicine 

Recently in Swimming and Diving Category

Prelims photos posted

A photo gallery with images from this morning prelims session is now available.

There are a number of swimmers in the water warming up for the 1,650-yard freestyle, which begins at 3:15 p.m.

The rest of the finals session starts at 5:30 p.m. Follow along with live results and live video.

Platform diving update

Freshman Roxanne Fitter posted a personal-best score of 250.50 in the consolation finals of platform diving to grab a 10th-place finish in the event.

That score came on the heels of the 229.35 she scored to post the 10th-best score in the preliminary round on the tower.

Senior Emily Cheffins was 19th in the prelims with a total of 199.75, while freshman Leslie Cannon scored 168.65 to finish 20th.

The top eight finishers will be determined during tonight's finals session, when the championship final will be contested.

200 butterfly update

Junior Karlyn Hougan will swim in the "C" final of the 200-yard butterfly after clocking in at 2:03.23, a drop of nearly four seconds off her previous personal-best mark in the event.

Senior Anna Chang clocked in at 2:06.24, while sophomore Abby Soderholm checked in at 2:06.66.

Freshman Emma Cabrera posted a time of 2:12.75.

200 breaststroke update

Big Ten record-holder and defending champion Ashley Wanland will get a chance to repeat in the 200-yard breaststroke after she cruised to a win in her preliminary heat and earned the No. 5 seed for the finals in 2:12.51.

The freshman duo of Paulina Gralow and Brittany Kimmitt also were strong and both will swim in the consolation final with a chance at picking up points for the Badgers. Gralow clocked in at an NCAA "B" cut and personal-best time of 2:15.77, while Kimmitt went 2:16.00 to also record a personal-best and NCAA "B" time.

Senior Libby Brooks will swim in the "C" final of the event after clocking in at 2:17.63.

Minnesota's Jillian Tyler recorded an NCAA "A" cut to earn the No. 1 seed for the championship final at 2:10.32.

Wanland holds the all-time Big Ten record at 2:07 47, as well as the conference meet record of 2:08.14.

100 freestyle update

Wisconsin advanced three swimmers into tonight's finals in the 100-yard freestyle, including a spot in the championship final for sophomore Beckie Thompson.

Thompson swam a season-best 49.38 to grab second place in her heat and the No. 4 seed for the "A" final.

Senior Rosie Morahan clocked in at a season-best 49.85 to earn a spot in the consolation final, as did freshman Ruby Martin in a career-best time of 50.27.

Freshman Laura Miller will swim in the "C" final after clocking in at 50.48, as will junior Kelsey Gergen, who cut more than 2 1/2 seconds off her previous season-best time to win her heat in 50.52.

Karlyn Hougan checked in at 51.49.

200 backstroke update

The Badgers will have a pair of swimmers in the championship final of the 200-yard backstroke tonight after strong swims in the morning prelims.

Junior Maggie Meyer won her heat of the prelims in a season-best time of 1:55.42 and earned the No. 3 overall seed for tonight's final in the event. Senior teammate Candice Peak clocked in at a season-best 1:56.55 to take second in the heat and will be the No. 7 seed.

Meyer's time was just off the pace of her personal-best mark of 1:55.30. She finished fourth in the 200 back at last year's Big Ten meet.

Everyone will be chasing Indiana's Kate Fesenko, who put more than three seconds on the rest of the field with an NCAA "A" qualifying time of 1:52.03

Sara Goff won the second heat in an NCAA "B" qualifying time of 1:58.11, dropping nearly seven seconds off her season-best mark. She closed over her last 50 yards in 29.40, more than a half-second faster than anyone else in the field.

As a result, the senior is in a position to score for the Badgers as the No. 7 seed in the consolation final.

Amie Osten (2:02.92) was fourth and Elle Meinholz (2:03.91) fifth in their section, as well.

Meyer claims 100 back title

Junior Maggie Meyer claimed the Badgers' fourth title of this year's Big Ten championships by matching her own school-record time to take the 100-yard backstroke in an NCAA "A" qualifying time of 52.27.

The win gives Meyer her fifth career Big Ten title, and her first in an individual event. She entered the week as the national leader in the event.

It was the third time this season that Meyer has surpassed the standard for automatic NCAA qualifying in the event.

Senior Sara Goff won the consolation final and finished ninth overall with a season-best and NCAA "B" qualifying time of 54.58. Amie Osten added to the Badgers' point total in the event with a fifth-place finish in the consolation final (13th overall) in 55.22

Wanland scores All-Big Ten finish

Sophomore Ashley Wanland clocked a season-best time of 1:00.16 to finish second in the 100-yard breaststroke, earning All-Big Ten honors in the event for the second-consecutive year.

Wanland's time NCAA "B" cut trailed only the winning time of 59.35 clocked by Minnesota's Jillian Tyler.

Wanland was third at the wall after 25 yards and remained there at the race's halfway mark, but was second with 25 yards to go and closed out the race by covering the final length in 15.78.

Freshman Paulina Gralow was second in the "C" final in 1:02.54, with freshman Brittany Kimmitt third in 1:03.46. Both clocked personal-best times. Senior Libby Brooks finished eighth in 1:04.65.

In the 200-yard freestyle, sophomore Danielle Beckwith finished seventh in the "C" final with a time of 1:49.60.

Hougan scores in 100 fly

Junior Karlyn Hougan finishes 14th in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 55.38.

The 200-yard freestyle is up next, with sophomore Danielle Beckwith swimming in the "C" final.

Yo Gabby Gabby

| No TrackBacks
Senior Gabby Maddalena grabbed a 12th-place finish in the 400-yard individual medley, clocking in at 4:18.88 to finish nearly a second faster than her time of 4:19.74 from the morning prelims.

Redshirt freshman Monika Stitski clocked in at 4:21.63 to take second in the "C" final. That was just off the personal-best mark of 4:21.31 she set during the prelims.