UW Health Sports Medicine 

Alvarez on College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

Former Badger football coach and current Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez had a big year in 2009, being inducted to both the Wisconsin State Athletic Hall of Fame and the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. He may be adding the College Football Hall of Fame to that list.

Alvarez is one of seven former college coaches to appear on the the 2010 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame announced today by the National Football Foundation. The ballot was mailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class. Chaired by Gene Corrigan, a former ACC Commissioner and NCAA president, the 13-member NFF Honors Court includes an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletics directors, conference commissioners, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

The FBS Hall of Fame Class will be announced live May 27 from the NASDAQ Times Square site in New York City during a noon press conference and inducted at The National Football Foundation s Annual Awards Dinner on December 7, 2010 at the landmark Waldorf-Astoria Hotel also in New York City. The May 27 press conference has been carried live on ESPNEWS for the past three years, and the same coverage is anticipated again this year.

There are currently eight former Badgers in the College Football Hall of Fame, including Pat O'Dea, Robert Butler, Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch, Marty Below, Alan Ameche, Dave Schreiner, Pat Harder and Pat Richter.

If Alvarez is inducted, he can expect another citation from Governor Jim Doyle, like the one he received on March 3.