UW Health Sports Medicine 

200 breaststroke update

Big Ten record-holder and defending champion Ashley Wanland will get a chance to repeat in the 200-yard breaststroke after she cruised to a win in her preliminary heat and earned the No. 5 seed for the finals in 2:12.51.

The freshman duo of Paulina Gralow and Brittany Kimmitt also were strong and both will swim in the consolation final with a chance at picking up points for the Badgers. Gralow clocked in at an NCAA "B" cut and personal-best time of 2:15.77, while Kimmitt went 2:16.00 to also record a personal-best and NCAA "B" time.

Senior Libby Brooks will swim in the "C" final of the event after clocking in at 2:17.63.

Minnesota's Jillian Tyler recorded an NCAA "A" cut to earn the No. 1 seed for the championship final at 2:10.32.

Wanland holds the all-time Big Ten record at 2:07 47, as well as the conference meet record of 2:08.14.